There I lie in the graveyard
All Covered up in cold mud
Where I utter no word in response
Where you think I lie peacefully
Where it’s all numb and dark
Yes, you know I am scared of the dark
Yet I lie therein fear…

There I lie in the graveyard
All covered up in cold mud
Oh! Sweetheart, how I wish I had heard you say I love you when I was alive
Oh! Sweetheart, how I wish you had given those roses when I was alive
Oh! Sweetheart, how I wish you had kissed my forehead when I was alive
Oh! Sweetheart, how I wish you had missed me when I was alive

There I lie in the graveyard
All Covered up in cold mud
I see faces that I never got to see while alive
I witness tears which never broke out when mine did
I hear praises which I never heard when I desperately needed
I feel hugs which I never got when I was in need of

Oh! There I lie peacefully in the graveyard
All Covered up in mud and dirt…

